The UK Cyber Security Council has announced today the appointment for four additional trustees, taking the total to eight. 

The appointments add significant legal, governance and education expertise to the Board of Trustees of the Council, which was granted charitable status in July 2021.

Following a vigorous recruitment and selection process, the four new trustees are:

  • Chitra Balakrishna, a senior lecturer in cyber security at the Open University with over 19 years of experience across academia and industry
  • Edward Goodchild, an executive with both longstanding charity experience and extensive knowledge of professional registration, standards and ethics
  • Frances Le Grys, a lawyer with a 25 year career at a global law firm, including eight years as Partner & General Counsel
  • Nathan Nagaiah, a long-time educational expert with experience of administering nationally-recognised qualifications and advising on diversity

Dr Claudia Natanson, chair of the Council trustees, said: “The appointment of additional trustees strengthens the Council considerably, bringing a wealth of new perspectives and experience to the table. I’m delighted to welcome them all.”

Simon Hepburn, the recently appointed chief executive of the Council, explained that a Board of Trustees with relevant backgrounds and diverse knowledge would help the council both prioritise and be effective more quickly: ”They constitute an instant sounding board, with a vested interest in the success of the Council and I look forward to working with them.”

Four further trustees remain to be appointed. These will be representatives of the Council membership.