PrivSec South Africa

 

PrivSec South Africa

 

Headline Sponsor

OneTrust

 

AGENDA

 

 

CATCH-UP & WATCH ON-DEMAND

GMT Tuesday 18 January 2022
All times shown in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)
07:00

GDPR Compliant? The Extra Steps You’ll Need to Take to Comply with South Africa’s POPIA
07:00 AM - 07:45 AM (GMT) | 09:00 AM - 09:45 AM (South Africa)

The EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is often cited as the world’s toughest data protection law. Many organizations have worked hard to bring themselves into GDPR compliance.

South Africa’s Protection of Personal Information Act (POPIA) is similar to the GDPR in many ways. Both laws provide rules and principles about the processing of personal data, stipulate the information that must be provided to data subjects, and impose new requirements for data breach reporting.

But the two laws are far from identical. PrivSec South Africa will explore how the GDPR and the POPIA intersect, how they differ, and what extra steps you must take to bring your GDPR-compliant organization in line with South African law.

Host

  • DNerushka Bowan, Technology and Privacy Lawyer / Director, Norton Rose Fulbright South Africa

Speakers

07:15
07:30
07:45
08:00

South Africa Cybercrimes Act: How Will the Law Impact South African Businesses?
08:00 AM - 08:45 AM (GMT) | 10:00 AM - 10:45 AM (South Africa)

South Africa’s Cybercrimes Act passed in May 2021 but has yet to come into force. The law creates new criminal offences for many cyber crimes, including hacking, ransomware, and cyber forgery.

But while the Cybercrimes Act will give police new powers to tackle online crime, it’s not only law enforcement that will be impacted. The law also imposes compliance and reporting obligations on finance firms too.

There’s still time to prepare before the Cybercrimes Act takes effect. PrivSec South Africa will explore how the Cybercrimes Act will impact the country’s financial sector—and identify the steps finance companies must take to prepare for enforcement.

Host

Speakers

08:15
08:30
08:45
09:00

Codes of conduct: Preparation, compliance and enforcement
09:00 AM - 09:30 AM (GMT) |11:00 AM - 11:30 AM (South Africa)

Codes of conduct are not a new concept, but have been a comparatively rarely used mechanism in the European privacy landscape. Recently, this has started to change. With South Africa's Information Regulator notifying receipt of various codes of conducts regarding the financial, medical and telecommunications sectors, among others, understanding the drafting, approval and compliance processes are an increasingly dynamic aspect of complying with the conditions of lawful processing under POPIA.

This session will discuss what has happened so far, who is impacted and how, as well as what this process looks like in South Africa and beyond. It will also consider the benefits and potential challenges related with the mechanism.

Speaker

09:15
09:30
09:45
10:00

How to Avoid Sanctions Under the POPIA
10:00 AM - 10:45 AM (GMT) | 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM (South Africa)

South Africa now has one of the world's leading data protection regimes. And along with strict rules on the processing and security of personal information, the POPIA brings large fines and even prison sentences for those who break the rules.

PrivSec South Africa will consider the best ways to avoid sanctions under the POPIA by providing compliance tips from experience privacy professionals.

Host

Speakers

10:15
10:30
10:45
11:00

South Africa’s New International Data Transfer Rules: Tougher Than Europe’s?
11:00 AM - 11:45 AM (GMT) | 13:00 - 13:45 PM (South Africa)

Transferring personal information across borders is among the biggest compliance challenges for privacy professionals.

For example, the EU’s notoriously complex rules on international data transfers have led some to conclude that it’s better to simply keep data in the jurisdiction it was collected. And at first glance, South Africa’s new data transfer rules look even tougher.

But the nature of the global economy means some personal information will always need to flow across borders.

PrivSec South Africa will consider how businesses can meet the challenge of transferring personal information out of South Africa while remaining in compliance with the POPIA.

Host

Speakers

11:15
11:30
11:45
12:00

The POPIA and Cookie Compliance
12:00 PM - 12:45 PM (GMT) | 14:00 - 14:45 PM (South Africa)

Most businesses use cookies and other tracking technologies to raise ad revenues, target prospective customers, or maintain their websites and apps.

In Europe, the U.S., and several other regions, cookies have become a major compliance concern for legal teams. The POPIA’s new rules on “online identifiers” mean that cookie compliance should now be a top consideration for South African businesses, too.

Any company covered by the POPIA will need to consider how the new law impacts their digital analytics and advertising programs. PrivSec South Africa will take an in-depth look at the POPIA’s new cookie rules—what’s changed, who’s covered, and could the new law impact your bottom line?

Host

Speakers

12:15
12:30
12:45
13:00

Sponsor Led Session
13:00 PM - 13:30 PM (GMT) | 15:00 PM - 15:30 PM (South Africa)

More information coming soon.

Speakers

13:15
13:30
13:45
14:00

COVID-19 and the Rise of Cybercrime in South Africa: How to Turn the Tide?
14:00 PM - 14:45 PM (GMT) | 16:00 PM - 16:45 PM (South Africa)

Like with many countries worldwide, the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated digital transformation in South Africa. Along with some social and economic benefits, the shift to remote work and online interactions has also spurred a rise in cybercrime that shows little sign of abating.

Phishing, ransomware, and other cyberattacks are now common occurrences in a country that often ranks among the most cybercrime-vulnerable in the world. And research suggests that COVID-19 has accelerated digital fraud among consumers across the country.

PrivSec South Africa will explore the state of cybercrime in South Africa since COVID-19—and ask what governments, businesses, individuals, and tech experts can do to turn the tide.

Host

  • Armandt Roodt, SSCPl, Data Protection Officer & Information Systems Security Consultant, Broad Risk Assessors (Pty) Ltd

Speakers

14:15
14:30
14:45
15:00

The Growth of Data Protection and Cybersecurity Across Africa
15:00 PM - 15:45 PM (GMT) | 17:00 PM - 17:45 PM (South Africa)

South Africa has one of the strongest data protection and cybsecurity regulatory regimes on in Africa—but it's far from the only African country that it developing its digital legal framework.

PrivSec South Africa will bring together privacy and security experts from across Africa to discuss the present and future of data protection and cybersecurity in Africa: What to expect, and how to ensure your organisation can thrive when working with partners across the continent.

Host

Speakers

15:15
15:30
15:45
16:00

Closing Remarks
16:00 PM - 16:30 PM (GMT) | 18:00 PM - 18:30 PM (South Africa)

15:15
15:30